Reviews

“A deliciously wicked thriller about a commanding woman out for revenge, Vindictive is an enticing tale of lust, assassins, and the wealthy behaving badly. After uncovering a scandalous secret about her husband’s past, Jules Cartell plots his demise while climbing the Canadian corporate ladder, but unfortunately someone’s also scheming to take her down. It’s hard to believe Vindictive is a debut, as author Ryan Lawrence writes with the crisp confidence and witty repartee of a master novelist.” – Self-Publishing Review. Read the full review here.


Vindictive
is a riveting murder mystery novel that will have readers turning the pages to find out what happens with Jules and how the lies she has been told unfold. A fast paced novel perfect for readers looking for action, suspense and thrills.” – Literary Titan. Read the full review here.

“A deliciously nasty revenge tale about the wealthy & powerful behaving badly. Snarky! Kinky! Queer! For sure the most fun I’ve had reading all year. Like if Bret Easton Ellis had good politics.”Michelle Hogmire B.A., M.F.A., Book Reviewer at Self-Publishing Review, Booklife, Reedsy Discovery, and BookSirens

Ryan Lawrence’s VINDICTIVE is a genuine page-turner filled with sex, violence, quality perfume, classy dishware, and determined revenge.”IndieReader.

Here are two ways that you’ll be able to share what you think of Vindictive:

  1. Write a review on Amazon.
  2. Share a comment right on my website!

Thank you for your support. 

Heart Pounding Read!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 6, 2022

This is THE best Canadian book I have read in quite some time. The entire book had my mind spinning as it tried to figure out every twist and turn – and by the time I was flipping through the final chapter, my mind was totally blown. Amazing piece of work – and I look forward to reading more from this gifted writer.

Rob T.

Vindictive Is Amazing!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 13, 2022

Blown away! An amazing job, Ryan!

Thomas Haeeni

Heart Racing!

Rated 4 out of 5
July 10, 2022

This book will grab your attention at the start, and keeps you guessing as you go with plenty of twists. Lawrence does a great job of building tension and keeping you on the edge of your seat as you turn pages for hours. The imagery is vivid, and it’s easy to feel like you’re watching the story unfold in front of you. The characters have a bit of depth, but it’s not always easy to like them. Although, I think that just adds to the story. A great thrilling read to keep your heart racing late into the night.

Liliyana Shadowlyn

An exhilarating book from start to finish!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2022

I can’t recommend this book enough! Great writing with great characters. The plot keeps you hooked with twist after twist and it all comes together in a satisfyingly perfect way. If you’re looking for a book that will grab your attention and not let go, this is it!

Jason D.

Vindictive is Author Ryan Lawrence’s debut novel and wow! What a debut!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 15, 2022

The story centers around Jules, an intelligent and powerful businesswoman, who seeks revenge against those who have caused her harm. Her plan for exacting revenge is brilliantly planned and executed in such a way that keeps the reader ensnared until the very last page. The author creates characters that are so vivid and well-developed that you cannot help but love/hate them. Every page and every chapter provides the reader with a new clue or new twist that only adds to the suspense of this thriller. The writing style and use of descriptions are very sophisticated which is perfect for this novel considering the level of extreme intelligence of the main characters in the book. The story does end with a happy-for-now scenario, as the second part of this novel should be released later this year.
This book was wonderfully written and kept me on the edge of my seat until the very last page. It is highly recommended for those who enjoy thrillers. I cannot wait to read more from this Author!

Matthew Dante

Honestly, I highly recommend this read, especially if you want a thriller you get completely stuck into!

Rated 4 out of 5
June 15, 2022

I really liked this read and found myself caught in the web of lies, betrayal and ultimate revenge. The characters made it very easy to become part of the story and truly want that revenge yourself.
Throughout, I found the detail of the story excellent. The characters had personalities and depth, that really brought the story to life and the world-building was able to make you feel very present.
I loved the flow and pace of the book, as it fits well with the nature of the story and really made it hard to put it down.

Natural Bri

Vindictive is a thrilling piece of literature that enthralled, entertained, and engrossed me from the very first page!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 28, 2022

Everything about this piece of crime/thriller book was exciting; the characters, as well as the story the reader gets to experience, and the incredible literature courtesy of the excellent Ryan Lawrence, made me fall madly in love with this book! Vindictive is a piece of fiction that will captivate readers from all genres thanks to the many themes that are interwoven between the pages. This book can only be described as a read that should not be missed! If you are looking to read a book that will grasp your attention from the first page and hold it throughout then already I would implore you lovely readers to read this book because it is utterly brilliant!
Vindictive is a thrilling, shocking, and memorable thriller novel that will take its readers on a twisty turny, and action-packed journey from the start. The reader in Vindictive will be taken on a journey like no other as we meet Jules Cartell, a woman who lives the perfect life, with her beauty, wealth, loving husband, and a partnership in her family’s law firm. However, looks can be deceiving, and soon Jules learns of a crime against her family, perpetrated by her husband Phillip years before, and this sets Jules on a path of revenge. The reader will follow Jules as she embarks on a journey of revenge, she will do anything to get it and this book lovers is the short premise of the incredible Vindictive!
The story of Vindictive is a magnificent one that is full of many exciting moments and many twists and turns. As the reader reads this book they will always be kept on edge thanks to the unexpected turns the reader will experience; these twists and turns will guarantee the reader keeps reading. They will feel compelled to do so, and that is the sheer beauty of this novel!
The excellent author of this novel, Ryan Lawrence effortlessly takes the reader on a thrilling journey; Lawrence’s words managed to keep me intrigued as well as entertained as I raced through this book. It is the kind of book that is impossible to put down, and when I had to I longed for it! I wanted to be reunited with the story I had grown to love and the characters I had become invested in.
Ryan Lawrence is a talented and well-accomplished author who has written an unforgettable novel that features heavily on its characters and themes. Lawrence’s characters are superb, and I think every reader will be able to find an attribute they like in them. They are believable, and their narratives jump right off the page and into the reader’s mind. This is another thing… Lawrence has managed to create a vivid picture in my mind of the setting he has established. Lawrence’s sometimes long, descriptive sentences, captured my imagination, and made me turn the pages with haste!
To summarize my thoughts on the exciting and thrilling novel that is Vindictive; I would say if you are a reader who is tired of reading the same old books that are lackluster and forgettable then take a chance with this one because I promise you now that you will not be disappointed! Vindictive gets five stars from me!

Aimee Ann

A riveting mystery!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 13, 2022

Vindictive is a wonderfully written book that kept me on the edge of my seat until the very last chapter. The author creates characters so vivid and well-developed that they leap off the page. The writing style and use of descriptions are very sophisticated, but I still found the novel to be quite accessible. High camp in some parts and downright tension and terror in others, but nothing felt forced or awkwardly paced which is something I would have thought likely in a book that’s over 400 pages. Kudos to the author. Very entertaining!

Sue G L

Do yourself a favour, get in on this author while he is still new!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 28, 2022

Wow! Excellent, can’t believe this is his first novel!

Shaun C.

Highly Recommend!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 27, 2022

THEY. HAVE. TO. PAY. Wow. So many chills toward the end of this book. The twists and turns that happened in this novel were brilliantly woven into a masterful web of connection between so many characters. It culminated in a reveal that completely blew my mind. I cannot wait for the sequel.
I highly recommend this read. This book took me on a journey of the fictional city of Fairpointe, Ontario, Canada following the lives of some of the wealthiest and most powerful inhabitants. As I read each chapter, I gained more and more perspective on each person and their motivations – rallying for some and wishing for ruin for others. The detail and depth of prose made me feel as though I was living the events with the characters, fully immersed in the scenery and participating in the relationships through the vivid conversations. If you are looking for a character-driven and thrilling book with unexpected turns, this is the one for you!

Courtney M.

Addictive !!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 15, 2021

Vindictive kept me up at night , not wanting to put it down
! It will fascinates you and introduce you into to the lavish , extravagant , seemingly perfect life of Jules Cartell , only to find out , that nobody’s life is ever that perfect !! The author pulls you into the the lives of his characters . Some of them you’ll love to hate and hate to love ! He puts everything you need into a good read , secrets , lies , love , lust , sex , backstabbing , revenge !! Vindictive is the perfect novel to curl up under a blanket on a cold night and delve into !!
🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Amy Crow
4.8
Rated 4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 11 reviews)
Excellent82%
Very good18%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%
Vindictive by Ryan Lawrence, psychological thriller